Export a copy of your Facebook information

Copy link
Android App Help
Computer help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
We're gradually updating people to Meta Accounts. You may see either Accounts Centre or Meta Account settings as the place to manage your account settings.
If you have additional Facebook profiles, you can export a copy of your Facebook information for each of your profiles. Some information collected from your additional profiles, including ads information, can only be accessed by exporting your Facebook information for your main profile, which is the first profile that you create when you sign up for Facebook.
You can access Download your information under Your information and permissions in Accounts Centre or through your Facebook settings.
You can export a copy of your information to an external service, or export it to your device. Available information includes content and info you've shared, your activity and info that we collect. Devices and external services support different types of information for export. Learn more about the categories of information you can export.
To export your information to a device, you need sufficient storage space. The types of information and media quality that you select can make the size of your files larger or smaller.
For example, high-quality videos make files larger, while exporting one type of information makes them smaller.
Check your available storage space to help decide if you want to export to a device or to an external service.

Export your Facebook information from Meta Account settings to a device

  1. Click on your profile picture in the top right, then click Settings and privacy.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Accounts Centre, then click Your information and permissions.
  4. Click Export your information.
  5. Click Create export.
  6. Select the profile that you'd like to export information from.
  7. Select Export to device.
  8. From here, you can choose specific info to export and select a date range, format, notification email address and media quality.
  9. Once you have customised your export, click Start export.

Export your Facebook information from Meta Account settings to an external service

  1. Click on your profile picture in the top right, then click Settings and privacy.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Accounts Centre, then click Your information and permissions.
  4. Click Export your information.
  5. Click Create export.
  6. Select the profile that you'd like to export information from.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select Export to external service.
  9. Choose an external service to export your information to and click Next.
  10. Choose how often you want to export and click Next.
  11. Click Connect. You will need to connect to the external service you've selected.
  12. You may need to enter the password for the profile that you selected and click Next.
  13. From here, you can customise your export and choose your notification email address and format.
  14. Once you have customised your export, click Start export.
When your export is ready, you'll have four days to export your information in the Available downloads section in the Export your information tool in Meta Account settings. You can also delete your export or view past file requests in the Past request section.
Exporting your files is a password-protected process that only you have access to.
If you've requested for your information to be exported to a device, you'll receive an email notification and a notification on Facebook letting you know it's been done.
Note: You can always view your Privacy Shortcuts to learn about the ways that you can control your information and privacy on Facebook.
Why you may not be able to export your information
You may not be able to export information from some of your profiles for these reasons:
  1. Deactivated: You have deactivated this profile. You can reactivate the profile to export its information.
  2. Scheduled for deletion: You requested that this profile should be deleted. You can cancel the deletion to export your information.
What's the difference between an HTML or JSON copy of your information?
When you request a copy of your information on Facebook, you can choose to receive it in an HTML or JSON format:
HTML: An easy-to-view format of your information on Facebook. You'll receive a ZIP file that, once opened and extracted, will contain an HTML file named index that you can open like a web page on your web browser. The ZIP file will contain folders with files, including any images and videos you've requested.
JSON: A machine-readable format of your information that could allow you to transfer your information more easily when uploading it to another service.
You can also choose the quality of your media files (photos, videos) when you request a copy of your information. If you choose a higher quality version of your media, your download will be larger and take up more space.
What security measures are in place to make sure that someone else doesn't download a copy of your information?
We have a number of security measures in place to help keep your account secure and protect your information on Facebook. Before you can begin downloading a copy of your information, we'll first ask you to enter your password. We may also ask you to complete additional verification steps before allowing your download to begin. To help protect your account, your download request will expire after a few days and you can always request a new one.
Our security systems are always running to help mitigate threats before they reach you and your friends on Facebook, and we offer tools such as Security Checkup and two-factor authentication as additional ways to improve the security of your account. Learn more about keeping your account secure.
Note: Bear in mind that your information request may contain private information. You should keep it secure and take precautions when storing or sending it, or uploading it to another service. You can always select specific sections when requesting a copy of your information.
How can you request your personal information stored by Facebook if you don't have an active Facebook profile?
If you deactivated your account:
If you previously had a Facebook account that is currently deactivated, you can reactivate your account by logging back in to Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in elsewhere.
After re-activating your account, you can access your information through your account or by using the Export your information tool.
If you deleted your account or have never signed up for one:
If you deleted your Facebook account, you will not be able to access your account information. Some information that you shared may still appear on other people's Facebook accounts. For example, if you sent someone a message, they may still have their copy of the message similar to an email.
If you don't have a Facebook account but believe that Facebook may have information about you, you can contact us to request a copy of your information.

Yes
No

Other ways to get help

Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time